The birth plan

I’m sure I can just go ahead and expect the opposite of every single thing I “plan” for…

Birth Plan

 

Mother-to-be: Emily Goodin Partner: David Castille
Support Person(s): Our doula/s: Rene’ Johnson and/or other Birth Help doulas Due Date: March 12
Practitioner: Preferably Dana Brewer but understand if another Ochsner midwife has to attend the birth due to call schedule Place of Birth:

Ochsner Family Birthing Center

This birth plan is intended to express the preference and desires we have for the natural, drug-free birth of our baby. It is not intended to be a script. We fully realize that situations may arise that will not allow this birth plan to be followed; however, we hope that barring any extenuating circumstances, you will respect this plan and be able to keep us informed and aware of our options. Thank you.

First Stage (Labor):

  • No induction of labor or rupturing or stripping of membranes.
  • No unnecessary or excessive vaginal exams.
  • Dim lights.
  • Maintain mobility (walking, rocking, up to bathroom, etc.).
  • Fluids (water, Gatorade, etc.) and light snacking (honey sticks, gummi bears, etc.) allowed if desired.
  • Heparin lock (if absolutely required).
  • Intermittent monitoring (ACOG Standards) with an external monitor.
  • Please do not offer me pain medications; I will ask for them if I want them.
  • Relaxation techniques (breathing, focusing, etc.).
  • Positioning as desired.
  • Water (shower or tub).
  • Heat or cold packs.
  • Massage
  • Acupressure
  • Please avoid referencing the time I have been in labor or speculating on how much longer it will be.  I will get more discouraged if I concentrate on how long the process is taking.

Second Stage (Birth):

  • Do not want to be told when it is time to push; would rather push when my body feels it is ready.
  • Would like to attempt birthing in tub in position of my choosing but if this changes, please abide by the following:
  • Please do not ask me if I want to see what’s happening in a mirror. I will not want to see!
  • Please do not ask my husband if he wants to see the baby crowning, etc. I prefer him to be focused on my top half and not looking at my bottom.
  • Choice of position and access to birth/squat bar, birthing stool, etc.
  • I would like to avoid an episiotomy, but please use compresses, massage and positioning to avoid tears (both of my bottom and the crying kind).
  • Local anesthesia, if necessary for any required post-birth repair. Again, am hoping for minimal destruction of my bottom.

Baby Care:

  • Would like baby placed on chest immediately after birth.
  • Please do not separate my baby from me until I indicate I am ready.
  • Please collect cord blood for public banking.
  • It is fine for staff to bathe baby.
  • Breastfeeding only; no formula or pacifiers.
  • My husband will cut the umbilical cord if this doesn’t present any problems.

Circumcision (if applicable):

  • We would prefer our son be circumcised in the hospital.
  • Father present (if possible)
  • Use anesthesia

Cesarean Birth (if medically necessary):

  • Spinal/epidural anesthesia
  • Partner present
  • Free one hand to touch the baby
  • Breastfeeding in recovery room

Sick Baby (if applicable):

  • Breastfeeding as soon as possible
  • Unlimited visitation for parents
  • Handling the baby (kangaroo care, holding, care of, etc.)
  • If the baby is transported to another facility, move us as soon as possible

 

February 10, 2011. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Casey replied:

    You’ve both put so much thought into the most important day of your life thus far. You’re going to be great parents. Not much longer now! And you’ll never again underestimate the power of your body and David will know just how much of a bad ass you truly are.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

