My #1 pregnancy must-have

As my time as a PL draws to a close, lots of people ask me, “How have you done it, Emily? How have you maintained such poise and grace throughout the last 33 weeks?” Okay, so no one has asked me that. But if they did, I would have one answer for them: David. Since not everyone can have David specifically, I suggest they immediately get a similar model if they become pregnant. Pre-pregnancy, he made my life extremely nice and easy, and he has more than stepped up to the plate on a daily basis since I peed on that stick back in July.

Now, I’m sure some of you are thinking to yourselves, “I am a grown-ass lady and can take care of myself.” Yeah, me too, my feminist sister; however, that sucks and is no fun. I’m not saying if you decide to have a baby, you need to run out and get yourself a husband. But you need to find someone who will coddle you and do your bidding for at least the duration of your pregnancy. It’s quite a commitment, but as long as you aren’t a complete asshole, you should be able to rustle someone up.

So here is the part where I openly brag about my perfect husband (as I am known to do–can you blame me?). When I found out I was pregnant, David bought me a gift card to a spa so I could go treat myself. He has drawn warm baths for me. He has rubbed my back, feet and legs whenever I ask and sometimes even when I don’t. He has cooked me anything I’ve asked for. He has scooped the litter boxes. He has gone to birthing classes with me. He has helped me pick baby furniture, crib bedding and all sorts of other baby products because he knows such decisions will cause me to have a meltdown. He has supported every single decision I’ve made regarding my pregnancy and upcoming birth. He has singlehandedly packed up a good bit of our belongings for our upcoming move and told me “don’t lift a finger.” And he thanks me randomly, when I least expect it but really need to hear it. For instance, if I’m having a particularly rough day, he’ll put his arms around me and tell me how much he appreciates me going through all this for our baby. Or like this morning, out of nowhere he told me how much he appreciated me researching all the baby stuff like carseats, strollers, etc.

I could go on and on and still not do him justice. I am such a lucky girl to have him in my life. His only goal, whether I am pregnant or not, is to make me happy and to make things easier for me. He is going to be a great dad.

So while some people swear by body pillows, Bella Bands, lollipops, Tums, stretch mark creams and various other mom-to-be sundries, I think the most important thing to have while pregnant is someone who loves and supports you no matter what, but is also open to doing your bidding at times (okay, all of the time). It’s the last time in your life when anything will be all about you so you might as well eat it up with a big freaking spoon.

January 23, 2011. Tags: , , . Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

