Fourth doctor’s appointment, 18 weeks

It is hard to believe I am nearly halfway done! Only forever and a day left to go…

Today’s appointment went well. I was a little aggravated beforehand because I could not bathe or even wash my face because our water was turned off. I was relieved to find out the midwife would not root around in my lady bits because they usually don’t start doing that until 35 weeks or so. So I didn’t feel so guilty about being filthy and hairy.

Today’s weigh-in indicated I have gained 2 pounds since last month’s appointment. Not too bad. I estimate I’ve gained between 5-8 pounds total so far, which the midwife said is healthy. She says I’m doing very well overall. The baby’s heartbeat was 135 when the nurse first checked it and then 142 a few seconds later. She said the baby was moving about a good bit.

I got my first flu shot ever today. David was very impressed with my shot courage. I told him shots didn’t bother me but after witnessing my pansy-ass reactions on several occasions when I’ve had to get IVs/blood drawn, I don’t think he believed me. Shots are easy. It’s when a needle has a specific target like my vein is when things get dicey. And I promise I am not just being a big baby–David will even admit it is not pleasant watching a nurse try to hit a good vein on me.

We have an ultrasound scheduled two weeks from today. We have been told over and over we have to make it very clear to the ultrasound tech we do not want to know the gender. This puzzles me because I think someone with that job would really go out of their way to not say anything. I will not be a happy camper if it is accidentally revealed to me.

Speaking of being a happy camper, I guess what they say about the second trimester is true–I’ve been feeling much better and happier. David tells me I’ve been in a very good mood lately. That is pretty amazing considering I don’t think anyone has described my mood as “good” ever.

 

October 13, 2010. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Rene Palmer replied:

    I can’t wait to see the U/S pictures. I SWEAR that if I notice the sex not to say anything! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

