Third doctor’s appointment

I had my third doctor’s appointment as a PL today. It was at 8 a.m. I’ve made all the appointments bright and early so David could go with me and go to work afterward. I told him today this was the end of that trend. I’ve never been a morning person and that’s become ten times worse since I’ve gotten knocked up. Most days, I sleep until 10 a.m. Having to get up at 6:30 a.m. to shower (there is no option of not showering before you go somewhere where people routinely poke around in your junk) and be out the door by 7:30 is no fun. Also, speaking of having to shower prior to the ob/gyn visits, would it be inappropriate to call the day before and ask if my appointment is a “panties off” situation? The last two visits no one has looked at my hoo-ha. I could have slept an extra 20 minutes rather than showering.

Today I saw a midwife I’ve never seen before. She was really nice. So far I’ve liked the three I’ve met. Well, I thought I liked the second one but I was a little put-off when the one today looked at the notes from the last time and asked, “How’s the depression?” I was like, hold the phones. The last appointment I’d just returned from Tahoe the day before so my internal clock was off and I was exhausted from traveling as well. I felt fat and zitty and furious. When they told me the doctor was running super late, I told my husband to go on to work so I was all alone (I made him go–I knew there was no telling how long we’d be waiting). Then they told me I’d probably just have to come back later. Well, I got mad and cried. When they were able to get me in to see one of the midwives, I blubbered to her that I hated my skin, how fat I looked, how I was tired of being tired and nauseated and that my husband was getting on my nerves. So, basically I was having a really off day–not unusual when you have all these wacky pregnancy hormones coursing through your body. She told me because I have a history of depression, I need to monitor how I’m feeling because I might want to consider getting on antidepressants. I told her I was just in a bad mood. Anyway, I think she exaggerated a bit in her notes. I’m not saying I feel like singing from the rooftops but I certainly have not been like I was that ONE day. I hope she calms down and stops writing hysterical notes like that on my chart.

Anyway, we listened to the heartbeat. It took a while for the nurse to find it, which made us a little nervous, so it was such a relief to hear it! Baby is healthy with 150 bpm. Other than that, the nurse prescribed me some Zofran for nausea (just in time for David’s football season hangovers!), another medication for headaches (can’t remember the name) and told us of a nifty Unisom/B6 cocktail I can use to put me right to sleep at night. David is very relieved I am getting meds for all this stuff even though he knows he practically has to twist my arm for me to take anything. He thought I was bad before but since I’ve been pregnant, I’ve been really bad about taking anything other than my prenatal vitamins.

I haven’t gained any weight since my last visit a month ago, which wasn’t a huge surprise because I have had a very poor appetite. I was a little surprised, though, just because I feel like I’m bigger. I celebrated by getting a McGriddle on the way home. Actually, I was really excited I even wanted breakfast–the last few weeks I have been practically forcing myself to eat.

So, all in all, a good appointment. It’s going to really suck toward the end of my pregnancy when I have to go to appointments more frequently. This once a month stuff already seems a bit excessive. The only plus is they don’t make you take your drawers off every time.

September 15, 2010. Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. Rene Palmer replied:

    I know what you mean about excessive. Samantha was a high risk pregnancy and after 20 weeks, I had to go to the OB once a week & the perinatologist once a week… So I was going to the Drs 2x/week. I added it up recently and I paid over $2000 in co-pays! lol

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

